Windows Server 2008/Vista Service Pack 2 SP2 CPP


 
 
The Beta for SP2 on Server 2008/Vista has been released as a CPP.
 
I have been running this for a few hours on Server 2008 with no negative results to speak of… yet.
 
 
Hotfixes and updates included with SP2http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd335033.aspx
 
I am running SQL 2005 and MOSS 2007 on this machine and I have seen no negative impact there either.  So far so nice…
 
My favorite updates –
  • Ability to record data on to Blu-Ray media natively in Windows Vista.
  • Adds Windows Connect Now (WCN) to simplify Wi-Fi Configuration.
  •  

    I know these are for the geek in me and have no business value whatso ever…Or do they?  Recoding to a Blu-Ray disc without 3rd party software can be awseome in Server 2008.  Have tried the new Windows Server backup?  It is by far a huge improvement on anything Windows has released for Server backups.  If these servers have an average amount of data and users want an image of that servergreated – and quick – Blu-Ray DVD might be the solution.  And it’s getting cheaper and cheaper.

    Plus I can recod BR videos now…We won;t talk about that.

     

    This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a comment